There is no state inheritance tax in Florida and there is no income tax. The state sales tax is 6% with Martin County having a 1% discretionary tax making sales tax in Martin County 7%. Other counties vary in tax rates.
During the first month of each year, taxes are assessed for city, county and special districts. All taxes are due on November 1 of each year and are delinquent by April 1 of the next year. For additional information, stop by the Martin County Tax Collector's office located in the court house on East Ocean Blvd. or call (772) 288-5600 or (772) 288-5595.
Florida homeowner's enjoy a $25,000 real estate tax exemption on the assessed value of the property. In order to receive this benefit, you must apply at the Property Appraiser's office supplying them with a copy of your voter registration, deed and driver's license or Declaration of Domicile. You must make application by March 1st, however, you must be a permanent resident who resided on and owned the property since January 1st of the tax year. Additional exemptions are available to disabled persons. Additional information may be secured by contacting Martin County Property Appraiser's office located at 1111 S. Federal highway Suite 230 or call (772) 288-5608
Stocks, bonds, and other securities are taxed in Florida. The rate is $1 per $1000 of value up to $100,000. The rate increases to $2 per $1000 of value for everything over $100,000 in value. If the value is less than $20,000 per person, no tax is due. For a husband and wife filing jointly, the value is $40,000. Deadline for filing and paying this tax is June 30th. Information regarding the Intangible tax may be secured through your local CPA or Florida Department of Revenue, Carlton Bldg., Tallahassee, FL 32304
Florida seat belt laws are very strictly enforced. All occupants must wear their seat belts when driving in the front seat of any car, van or truck. Occupants under six years of age must be in a child restraint seat, but even children over six (up to the age of eighteen) must wear a seat belt at all times no matter where they are located in the vehicle. There has been a special effort to enforce these safety laws so please.....BE SAFE AND BUCKLE UP!
Headlights must be used if your windshield wipers are on due inclement weather. Headlights are also suggested when you are on some of the two-lane highways or when posted for safety reasons.
Also, please remember:
* Turning right on red is legal unless otherwise posted.
* Open containers of alcoholic beverages in a vehicle are illegal.
* All trailers must have their own tag, operating brakes and turn signals lights.
* You must immediately purchase a Florida license tag and driver's license if you have children enrolled in school, gainfully employed, register to vote, or claim a homestead exemption.
* Vehicle registration (issued annually) and your driver's license (valid for four to six years) expire on your birthday, not at the end of that month or ten days after that date.
Already registered? Login
FREE AUTOMATED EMAIL UPDATES
Sign in to take advantage of all this site has to offer. Save your favorite listings and searches – also receive email updates when listings you like come on the market for free!
*Contact Information NOT Shared*
Illustrated Properties-Sewalls Point
STUART, FL 34996